Shardlake’s Norwich

Paul Dickson with Tombland
Paul Dickson with Tombland

A 2-hour guided walking tour celebrating CJ Sansom’s best-selling novel Tombland, featuring Tudor lawyer Matthew Shardlake’s visit to Norwich at the time of Kett’s Rebellion (1549).

The tour starts and finishes at the Maids Head Hotel and includes Tombland, the ancient Anglo-Scandinavian Market Place, Augustine Steward’s House, Norwich Cathedral Close, Bishopgate (Holme Street in the novel) and the Great Hospital, Bishop’s Bridge, the site of Bishop’s Gate and Lollards Pit, followed by a climb up to Kett’s Heights, the remains of St Michael’s Chapel, with its fabulous view across the city.

The return journey follows the north side of the river with views of the medieval Cow Tower and surviving city walls, near the location of the Pockthorpe Gate, before crossing the river and passing the Adam and Eve pub, where Lord Sheffield was taken after he had been mortally wounded, and seeing the site of the Battle of Palace Plain.

The tour finishes at the Maids Head Hotel with coffee or tea and biscuits.

  • Maximum size of group 12 (social distancing)
  • Cost £10 per person, includes coffee or tea and biscuits at the Maids Head Hotel
  • Minimum charge for a private tour £50

You can also book a special 3-hour Shardlake’s Norwich tour, which includes the possible site of the Battle of Dussindale, The tour costs £15 per person, with a minimum charge of £60 and includes tea/coffee and a biscuit at the end of the tour.

The Friends of Kett’s Heights is a voluntary group set up in 2015 to care for the site of Robert Kett’s headquarters. Find out about their work here www.kettsheights.co.uk

Join me for an online Shardlake’s Norwich talk, delivered by Zoom at 6pm on Thursday 6 May. Book here

Shardlake’s Norwich Tours

Book Your Paul Dickson Tour Now

      

Thursday 22 April at 10am         Thursday 29 April at 10am             Friday 30 April at 10am             

Thursday 6 May at 10am          Thursday 13 May at 10am             Saturday 22 May at 10am SOLD OUT         

Thursday 27 May at 10am         Wednesday 2 June at 10am       Thursday 10 June at 10am           

 Friday 11 June at 10amn             Thursday 24 June at 10am          Thursday 24 June at 6pm                   

Thursday 8 July at 10am            Tuesday 13 July at 6pm             Thursday 15 July at 10am         

Friday 16 July at 1pm                    Thursday 22 July at 10am 

Thursday 29 July at 10am             Friday 30 July at 10am                 Thursday 5 August at 10am  

Tuesday 17 August at 6pm        Thursday 19 August at 10am        Thursday 26 August at 10am

Saturday 28 August at 10am     Thursday 2 September at 10am   Thursday 16 September at 10am

Friday 24 September at 10am    Thursday 30 September at 10am Thursday 7 October at 10am

Thursday 14 October at 10am     Thursday 21 October at 10am        Saturday 23 October at 10am    

Thursday 28 October at 10am     Thursday 4 November at 10am   Thursday 11 November at 10am 

Thursday 18 November at 10am   Thursday 25 November at 10am 

Thursday 2 December at 10am    Friday 3 December at 10am         Thursday 9 December at 10am

Thursday 16 December at 10am  Friday 17 December at 10am        Thursday 23 December at 10am

Saturday 1 January 2022 at 11am 

Book Your Paul Dickson Tour Now

Read about CJ Sansom’s Tombland at Literary Norfolk

On Kett’s Heights

“We had a brilliant Tombland/Shardlake Tour with Paul. He was engaging and very knowledgeable and brought the book to life. We learnt so much about Norwich and loved every minute of the 2 hours. We would definitely book another tour with Paul when we come back for another visit.” Jo, Janet & Annette Oxfordshire/ Berkshire

“Your knowledge has helped me appreciate much better the circumstances of Kett’s rebellion, brought ‘Tombland’ more vividly to life and added much to my appreciation of Norwich history.  Judging by the comments of others in the group I am sure that this view was shared.” Penny, Norfolk

“Thank you for venturing out and giving us an excellent, informative and entertaining tour yesterday. We had a great visit and returned safely to Cambridge, our eyes wide at all the different sights and images we had seen after so long remaining within the Cambridge City boundaries.” Riki and Jim, Cambridge